Fact

What’s Up With WattPad

writing-writing-31275199-1500-1004Let’s get real.

I’m far from a perfect writer. On a good day, my prose is clunky, my characters flat, my scenes go nowhere, and my plots are a convoluted mess. Most days, I’m lucky eek out a few readable pages of a story.

(Note: No one can beat up on themselves better that a writer. Truth is, we play with words for a living and often used them to slay ourselves. I consider myself a master at it. Even worst review has nothing on the things I am capable of telling myself about just how awful of a writer I am.)

The process of writing a book is a deeply personal one. It’s lonely. Messy. Scary. Dramatic. And sometimes, it makes me feel like I belong in an insane asylum. Sounds fun, right?

It is. It’s one of the best things I have ever done.

Each time I write a book, I try something new. I work to reform not only my words, but the process of how a novel gets created (at least on my end). I do this because along this journey I’ve discovered that not only does ever novel deserve it’s own process, by writing in a new way, I’m forcing myself to grow and change. It’s only when you change that you get better at anything, and I think writing is no exception

Which brings me to my point.

The Wattpad Book Cover

The Wattpad Book Cover

I’m in the middle of my next book, which has the working title of OFF SEASON (I have never publicly revealed the title before this post, so you read that here first). The rough (oh so, so, so very rough) draft has about 18,000 words so far, or 50 paperback pages. Not many, but enough for me to know I am going somewhere at this moment. It also has character sketches and a working outline. OFF SEASON is on it’s way, and I think this project has potential.

So, because I think the story has promise, I’m inviting you to read it. Right now. Before the final sentence. Before the editing process. And long before it’s ever in the pipeline to your e-reader.

From now until further notice, I’ll be uploading chapters of this book to Wattpad. If you’re not familiar with that site, Wattpad is a fun way for readers and authors to connect. On the site, readers can read a book, or parts of a book, for free. They can follow authors, connect with them, and share their feedback. Authors, in turn, can reach out to readers and get a better handle on the status of their product.

I love this idea. i may be the storyteller, but at the end of the day, it’s all about the reader for me. I’m committed to creating high quality products that tell the stories in my head AND provide a fantastic reader experience. I’m all in.

Every Friday, I’ll be uploading new parts of OFF SEASON for the next few weeks. I invite you to read it and tell me what you think. It’s rough. It will have grammar mistakes. Sometimes, it might resemble the finger painted masterpiece of a four-year-old. Doesn’t matter. It’s still coming to Wattpad.

Love it, like it, hate it, I’ll take all of your feedback. You’ll have some great insight for me. I know it. I can’t wait to read that. You’ll get to be a part of this whole process. How cool is that?

And think of it this way: if nothing else, reading OFF SEASON on Wattpad will be a (free) way to pass the time. The site has a handy app to make it even easier to access your favorite stories and that’s free, too. Try it out on a plane, train, on a bus, in the car, while waiting at the doctor’s office, while stuck in line at the grocery, and as reading material on the treadmill at the gym. You can even read OFF SEASON on the toilet ( I won’t tell if you won’t).

When does this start? Right away.

The first three chapters of OFF SEASON are up for reading here. It’s Friday, after all. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

