Fact

Celi Cooks: Bacon Wrapped Water Chestnuts

For t/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/e53/47379070/files/2014/12/img_8125.jpghe recent holiday, I got a little bit creative in the kitchen. We invited my parents over for a simple Christmas dinner on the 25th, but I didn’t want it to be the typical night at home. I took a look at my menu and decided to kick it up a few notches in the appetizer department.

One way I did that was with bacon wrapped water chestnuts.

It’s a simple appetizer that packs big punches on flavor and presentation. Serve these at your next party, event, or workplace potluck and I guarantee you’ll have folks raving.

What you need: 

1 package of pepper smoked bacon (get the good stuff here, don’t scrimp)

1 10oz can of water chestnuts

1 box of toothpicks

1 jar of pre-made honey mustard

1 large cookie sheet (do not grease)

Method: 

1. Slice a bacon strip into thirds.

2. Wrap one section of bacon around 1-2 water chestnuts.

3. Secure wrapped chestnuts with a toothpick.

4. Place wrapped chestnuts onto cookie sheet.

5. Repeat as necessary, until cookie sheet is full.

6. Bake at 350 degrees until bacon has crispy edge, roughly 25-30 minutes

7. Plate and serve with a small bowl of honey mustard.

Prep time: 10 min

Cook time: 25-30 min

That’s it!

I hope you enjoy. My guests loved it, especially my husband (he has a love affair with bacon). Simple and chic. That’s all you need when it comes to entertaining!

 

One thought on “Celi Cooks: Bacon Wrapped Water Chestnuts

Leave a Reply

