Fact

#NaturalLove Release Week: Party Every Day

NL Book partyI’m not always the best at “the art of the pause.”

What I mean by this is that, in the past, I didn’t always stop to celebrate accomplishments. When I was younger (a lot younger), I was sometimes so focused on goals and projects ahead of me that I didn’t ever take a moment to save the accomplishments I did make. It was always on to the next thing, then the next, and the next. Anyone who tried to tell me to enjoy it only got long looks and a shake of my head.

For the last few years, though, I have tried to change that. I’ve take more time outs. I done more personal reflection. And I’ve tried  to stop and thank the people along the way who have helped me out just because they are awesome people that I’ve gotten to know in this world.  Life is about more than goals and achievements, but I had to learn that the hard way.

At least I learned it, right?

Wednesday night, as I came off the most intense book launch I have done yet, I took a little bit of time to stop. To relax. To “Celi-brate” as my husband and I laughingly call it. At The Mercer, one of Cincinnati’s newest and most buzzworthy restaurants, I took some time out to thank the people who helped make NATURAL LOVE  a reality. I’m not just talking about the editors and the beta readers. I’m talking about the friends who listened to me talk endlessly about this project for months, the ones who gave me advice, and the ones who I draw inspiration from everyday. They are the real reason anyone ever heard about this book in the first place. They believed in it, and that made me believe.

Now there is a 65,000 word book out there that proves it.

I brought pens, bought a few rounds of appetizers, showed up with some copies of the book (very, very, very rare proof copies), and enjoyed their company for a minute. My husband and I have great friends in this town. We have a life here that we love. We are so lucky to know these people.

And it was great to take a moment and pause with them.

Now—on to the next project! If you think for a moment that I am slowing down… you’re wrong. I have many, many, many other stories waiting to be told.

Leave a Reply

