Fitness

Ray of Light

ID-10071066Ahh–the fountain of youth. If only it really existed.

Since the beginning of time, mankind has searched for something, anything to stem the tide of the aging process. Creams. Surgery. Diets. Drinks. Concoctions. Pills.

And now, light.

No, I’m not talking about tanning here. We all know that’s bad for the skin.

If you haven’t heard, red light therapy is one of the biggest trends out there when it comes to health and anti-aging. Red light therapy booths are popping up all over the place, with tanning salons, spas, and gyms touting the health benefits of 15 minutes in a special booth that won’t give you a tan, but will give you exposed to concentrated light.

This latest trend, by the way, started with NASA. They developed modern light therapy booths as a way to help astronauts, and quickly discovered what are believed to be far-reaching health benefits. It’s an expansion on what humans have known since the ancient world. We’re better when we have more exposure to light.

In fact, some studies show red light therapy can help with anti-aging, relaxation, collagen production, seasonal affective disorder, acne, psoriasis, cold sores, general depression, and more.

I tried the Red Light Therapy booth for the first time this week at the gym where I work out, Planet Fitness. After viewing it with suspicion for a few days, I decided to give in to my curiosity. Once the gym associate gave me a quick rundown on how to operate the booth, I stepped in and shut the door,surrounded on all sides by a bright light. From there, I just stood there for 15 minutes as my skin soaked up the exposure.

I liked it. I’ll go back.

I read a recommendation that users undergo red light therapy for 15 minutes 4 times a week for six weeks before switching to once a week for maintenance. I’ll be testing this out in the next few weeks, and check back here on this blog.

In the meantime, would you try red light therapy? Have you?

Leave a Reply

