Fun

Our State Fair is a Great State Fair

photo (39)Before I moved to Oklahoma, I had never been to a really big state fair.

It just wasn’t part of my life growing up. The Ohio and Kentucky State Fairs were two hours away from our home in the Cincinnati suburbs, so making an annual pilgrimage wasn’t something we’d done. When I worked at KSLA, Shreveport hosted the annual Louisiana State Fair, but I often heard that as fun as that event was, it paled in comparison to the state fairs of other states, particularly in the Midwest and West.

They were right.photo (44)

The Oklahoma State Fair is one of my favorite events in OKC. I really enjoy it because it’s unlike anything I have ever been to, and the novelty of that always stands out to me. They say 2 million people–often more–make the trip to this fair every year, and I believe that. For a person who loves people watching, the OK State Fair is like going to a BCS Bowl. You can see everything–and everyone there.

Poster_of_the_movie_State_FairIt also reminds me sometimes of favorite musical growing up, the Rodgers and Hammerstein classic State Fair. That story is about a family that finds love and friendship at the Iowa State Fair in the 1940s. If you haven’t watched it, do. It’s a fun, big band old Hollywood movie with great songs and a dose of nostalgia.

photo (40)This year, I went to the State Fair on Saturday. My trips there usually coincides with a chance to sign autographs for KFOR/Freedom 43. That’s always a fun time, too. I still can’t get over how many people were in line this weekend at the KFOR booth! Of course, I think the balmy, sunny weather helped out with that. It was the perfect day to grab some fried cheese, a cinnamon roll, ride some rides on the Midway, and check out the array of animals and products from all over the state.

The Oklahoma State Fair runs every day until September 22nd.

Leave a Reply

