Fiction

THE RESISTANCE Sneak Peek

r-KISS-large570I’ve been working pretty hard on the sequel to The Undesirable, called The Resistance.

It’s the main thing taking up my writing life these days. So far it’s just over 65,000 words. Some readers have asked what this book is all about. I’ve mostly told them it’s an intense one. It has been exhausting for me to get it all out, but that’s often how the creative process is for me. I put a lot of energy into this stuff.

But I thought I’d share a little bit of the story. A sneak peek if you will.

Why not?

Are you ready? Here it is!

We’re just about to head for the Humvee when Fostino puts his hand on my arm. He pulls me through the house into the backyard. We’re alone–for the first time in a long time.

“What’s wrong?” I ask, even though I have a thousand guesses. Plenty is wrong. And we both know it. Been that way for a while.

 “I have a bad feeling,” he says. “A really bad feeling.” He backs me against the wall of the small house and then props his right arm against the wall, blocking me in further. “And I know you have one, too.”

 I stare at him for a few moments while I think of how to reply. “How can you tell?”

 “You’re not sleeping– not really.”

 “That’s every night.”

 He closes his eyes and sighs. “But this time, it’s worse. It’s different.”  Fostino reaches up and brushes a wayward strand of hair  from my face. The pieces must have escaped from the bun I pulled my hair into. “People see a lot of things in you, but they don’t see what I see.”

“And what’s that?”

“I see you. All of you.”

I hesitate against the wall as he draws nearer to me. “It’s going to be okay. We’ll be fine.” But even I don’t believe my own words. The truth is, I don’t know if we will be.

Fostino cups my jaw, just underneath my left ear. “I want you to know something, Charlotte.” He pauses. “I love you.”

“I love you, too.”

His eyes search my face. “No, I don’t think you hear me.” Another pause. “I love you.” Suddenly I notice that it sounds like he’s saying goodbye.

*Unedited and subject to change

Leave a Reply

