Fact, Fiction, Fun

Sweet Valley Memories

sweetvalleyhigh21For whatever reason, this weekend had me remembering some of  my favorite books as a kid.

Now, let me just say I was a voracious reader. I had to have a book at all times, and I plowed through the school library and then the community library with abandon. My parents spent more money on books for me than they did on clothes. On long trips, I had to have a stack of books as we made the long drive to wherever we were going.

Mom and Dad never minded, though. They figured as long as I was reading, I wasn’t doing other things they would have disliked–like getting into trouble or playing video games.

The books provided a huge escape for me, and they took me all over the world. I loved it.

And one of the world’s I loved the most was that of Sweet Valley. In fact, I blame that series for my later obsession with all things Los Angeles (it’s my favorite US city, and don’t try to change my mind about that because you can’t). I met California through these books, or at least what I thought was California–a world of glamorous teens who spent their time getting into trouble, swapping boyfriends, shopping at the mall, winning contests, gossiping, and learing life lessons the hard way. It was addicting. And I still remember how much I loved those books. I doubt I’ll ever forget it. And when someone in the neighborhood got the Sweet Valley High board game, I was so jealous. The Babysitter’s Club board game didn’t really compare (though I loved that book series, too).

svhWith that in mind, no blog post is complete without a look at my three favorite characters, and why:

Bruce Patman: Can we say rich hottie? This snobby guy treated girls horribly throughout the series, and often was the villain in some way or another, but he still had my heart. There’s something about dark, brooding, broken men. I always have a soft spot for them.

Jessica Wakefield: She wasn’t always nice, and was often selfish and self-centered, but she was by far the more interesting twin. She could manipulate anyone, and that made the stories that involved her page turners. She was also the glamorous one. What’s not to love?

Lila Fowler: Regina George had nothing on this girl. When Lila Fowler showed up, you know things were about to get interesting. She had everything–wealth, access, beauty, and brains. But she also had nothing. It made for a nice contrast.

What as your favorite book series as a kid?

2 thoughts on “Sweet Valley Memories

  1. Sweet Valley High was my favorite book series, also. The other series I read was Sweet Valley Twins. My favorite thing to do in the summer was to check out the SVH books and read them in between band rehearsals. 🙂

Leave a Reply

