Fashion, Fun

My Oscar Picks

It’s the big night for Hollyoscar red carpetwood– the pinnacle of award season.

Tonight is the night we find out who the Academy thinks was the best of the best. But of course, no night is complete without my Oscar picks. Okay, I’m just kidding. Every Oscar night is more than complete if I don’t weigh in on who should win. But this year, since I’m now a blogger, I figured I’d share what I normally only tell friends and coworkers.

Drum roll, please. Here, without further delay, are my choices for the major Academy Awards this year.

Best Supporting Actor: Robert De Niro. I caught Silver Linings Playbook early on, and I loved it. In my mind, he was unforgettable. This performance was De Niro at his best.

Best Supporting Actress: Anne Hathaway. Les Miserables was one of my favorite movies this year, and I don’t know anyone who didn’t think Anne’s haunting performance put this one over the top. She was great. Simply great.

Best Actress: Jennifer Lawrence. Again, I thought Silver Linings Playbook was just such a great film. And her performance stays with me even today.

Best Actor: Daniel Day-Lewis. His portrayal of Lincoln might be one of the best lead actor performances I have seen in a long time. As I watched this film, I totally forgot he was even acting. He just seemed so real.

Best Director: Steven Spielberg. Again, Lincoln was a film for the ages, and this was Spielberg at his best.

Best Picture: Argo. I know the winner of Best Director often wins for Best Picture as well, but this year I want to divide these awards. Argo is an amazing film that was perfectly cast, beautifully shot, and hauntingly real. It needs recognition, too.

I’m sure not all the movies I choose will win, so I just want to take a moment to say congratulations to all the nominees. The selection this year was very strong– great films, great actors. And for those who win, tonight will be unforgettable.

Now… what’s the other thing I love about tonight?  I love the fashion on the red carpet! That might be the best part!

Leave a Reply

