Fun

Reflections on “Stuff the Bus”

One of the best things about my “day” job is the chance I have to be involved in the community.

As anchor on Freedom43TV‘s 9PM News, I get to form partnerships with community organizations in Oklahoma that can really impact lives. One of my favorite partnerships is the one Freedom43 has with the Oklahoma Transon setit Association and Operation Homefront Oklahoma for “Stuff the Bus”. Every fall, OTA takes the bus out of service for a day, parks it at the KFOR/KAUT Freedom43 studios, and waits for the community to respond with donations for families that receive help from OHFOK. Operation Homefront OK is devoted to helping enlisted military families across the state. Items collected include diapers, school supplies, clothing, money, gift cards, canned goods and electronics.

Over the last two years, “Stuff the Bus” has collected more than $20,000 stuff the busin donations for those families.

As a military spouse myself, this is a cause that is very important to me. Very important.

This week, OTA honored Freedom43 with the Harold Stansberry Award, a community award that recognizes partnerships with OTA in the community. Our station management attended a banquet, and I got to attend as well to receive the award. It was also my pleasure to tell the folks at OTA that will be renewing the partnership for this fall. I know I echo the rest of these organizations when I say I hope that 2013 will be an awesome, unforgettable year for “Stuff The Bustansberry awards.” There a few causes better, in my mind, than this one.

Leave a Reply

